NBA Finals

The NBA Finals is the yearly championship series of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Eastern and Western conference winners play a best-of-seven game set to ascertain the league champion. The champions of the Finals are given the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy, which replaced the Walter A. Brown Trophy in 1983.
The series was originally Called the BAA Finals before the 1949–50 year when the Basketball Association of America (BAA) united with the National Basketball League (NBL) to form the NBA. The competition oversaw additional name changes to NBA World Championship Series from 1950 to 1985, in addition to a brief stint as the Showdown, before settling NBA Finals in 1986. [1]
The NBA Finals was initially ordered at a 2–2–1–1–1 format. In 1985, to ease the amount of cross-country travel, it had been changed into a 2–3–2 structure, in which the first two and last two matches of the series were played at the stadium of the group who earned home-court benefit by having the better record during the regular season. In 2014, the two –2–1–1–1 format has been restored. The first two games are played the higher-seeded team’s house, the following two at the house of this lower-seeded team, and the rest three are played at each team’s home arena alternately. [2]
A total of 19 franchises have won the NBA Finals, with the Toronto Raptors winning in 2019. The Boston Celtics hold the record for the most victories, having won the contest 17 occasions, as well as the most consecutive titles, winning 8 times from 1959 to 1966. The Los Angeles Lakers have contested the NBA Finals the most times, with 31 appearances. The Eastern Conference has provided the many winners, with 38 wins from 10 franchises; the Western Convention has 32, from 9 franchises.

Read more:

0 commenti

Lascia un Commento

Vuoi partecipare alla discussione?
Sentitevi liberi di contribuire!

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *